The Digital Divide

Presentation software in the k-12 classroom posses many advantages and disadvantages, but I think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Most disadvantages that come along with presentations is that they may not be very interactive with students, a teacher is just lecturing with slides to go along with it. This problem can easily be fixed and we’ve seen this through our past assignments. It is very easy to turn a presentation into an interactive learning experience, by adding games, questions or quizzes. Also, a presentation may not be available to a student outside of the classroom if they needed it for reference. Presentations can be edited in such a way that a teacher can provide a printed version that will provide the student with all the essential information. The many advantages of presentations are that they allow students to have a visual concept to relate the lectures too, and they are also learning through technology. Presentations can ease technology into a classroom to help kids learn, they are not difficult to create and use and it is an easier way to get information across. Also, using a presentation such as a PowerPoint or webquest helps to teach students how to correctly use technology for the future and can also be very interactive and fun. Technology is slowly making its way into classrooms, so presentations help students to adjust to that change.

I think that I can against the digital divide. I do not think it is fair that some students have a technological advantage over others because of factors the student cannot control. I think that all students should be given the same opportunities so they can succeed in the future. Personally, I have been fortunate enough to always have access to the changing technologies to learn and make things easier for me. I think that although I was more privileged, this does should not give me an advantage in the corporate world. Jobs are now looking to eliminate the pen and paper altogether, making everything online; but if they are going to make that change they have to take into consideration those who were not as fortunate as I and be willing to train certain individuals before just handing job over to someone more confident in their technological skills. In my future classroom I will try and incorporate technology into my teachers as much as possible and make sure to provide access to this information to all my students. I would not want a student to fall behind because they don’t have the resources others do. I will work with those students who are not as confident in using technology and help them to improve and provide them with the necessary tools to do so. When I am a teacher I will not want to digital divide, instead I want all my students to be confident in their technological abilities.

Being in school for over 13 years now, I have seen my fair share of different types of teachers and professors. I think that one of the biggest issues with technology in relation to education is the older generations of teachers who are hesitant, unwilling, or uninformed about using technology in the classroom. I think this is a big issue because the older generations do not know how to utilize technology to help improve their students learning, while a teacher across the hall could be incorporating websites, presentations, and other forms of learning with education. Having such a range of teacher does not ensure that all students are learning the same way and some may be gaining valuable information about technology they can use in the future, while others are lagging behind. I think that all teachers should have to go through specific workshops where they can all learn the same skills to incorporate different learning methods using technology. This will help students to learn better and all be on an even playing field. Technology is making its way into the classroom, but many teachers are not prepared for this and cannot use it to their advantage. This article, although published a few years back still hits on key points about teachers and their inability to incorporate technology into learning, it shows the negative effects if has on student learning versus those who use technology: http://blogs.kqed.org/mindshift/2013/02/are-teachers-of-tomorrow-prepared-to-use-innovative-tech/

Blogs I’ve commented on:

https://wsm13.wordpress.com/2015/03/17/blog-post-8/comment-page-1/#comment-21

https://ach13b.wordpress.com/2015/03/06/blog-post-8/comment-page-1/#comment-33

4 thoughts on “The Digital Divide

  1. I agree with you on how frustrating it is being in a classroom where the teachers are completely unknowledgeable about technology, especially in their classrooms! Too often I see teachers use the same Powerpoint layout over and over again, with nothing but just written text – no graphics, animation, or outside links to draw in the students to learning the topic. As a teacher, you must have adaptability and being able to learn the new up and coming things in the classroom, this includes with technology. Just the other day I went to Walmart and I passed a woman asking for help at one of the kiosk. The lady she asked for help had to call another worker because she admitted that she didn’t know how it worked. With this Walmart worker, along with any other profession including teaching, I believe you have to have the necessary knowledge to do your job. In this day and age, almost every job uses a form of technology! It’s important to be up to date with the times!

    Like

  2. I agree with you that PowerPoint can act as a great segue in a classroom that is not used to using technology. It is easy to follow along for the students and can be made engaging enough to keep their attention, while also getting the main point across.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Blog Post #9 | Technology & Teaching

  4. Pingback: Blog Post 10: | Samantha Gronau's Blog

Leave a Reply

