PowerPoints, Yay or Nay?

PowerPoint is definitely a helpful and easy tool to use to expand student knowledge just by the amount of graphics, visuals and multimedia you can place in it. As a visual learner, PowerPoint’s in class were always favorable to me and I think by incorporating the three knowledge dimensions into the lesson it makes it even easier to learn. Based on the book, the three dimensions are conceptual, factual, and procedural. The factual portion of a lesson can be easily shown through one or two PowerPoint slides with short bullet points of information. The slides can have a tid-bit of information while you expand upon it in your lecture. As your presentation furthers on you can show the conceptual aspects by adding flow charts and concept maps into your PowerPoint’s. PowerPoint is great and letting you add transitions and different ways to show how things relate or connect in a media way rather than just plane lines and arrows. Finally, for procedural portion of your presentation you can use video examples of multimedia creation tools so students can work together solve problems presented in front of them. Also, you can even make it fun and add your own audio of yourself asking examples. It allows you to make your own examples and even lets you speak even when you don’t want to. If a PowerPoint is created well, students will get the most out of the information put into it.

Adaptive technologies help students who have disabilities and they allow them to learn just as well as those around them. It is a step towards making learning non-discriminatory. A student may need essential tools to help them overcome the learning disabilities they possess and this is what adaptive technology does. A few examples of adaptive technologies can be handicap entrances to classrooms for those wheelchair bound, headphones/hearing aids for students who have trouble hearing the teacher and their lessons or ways to improve a students ability to see the board or projector in class. I am fortunate enough to have not had to use any of these technologies but I do know students who needed headsets to better hear videos being played for the class or one student who needed a magnifier to see the notes written on the board, this student was also allowed to sit closer to the board than the rest of the students. I think adaptive technologies are there to help tremendously but challenges will still arise. Schools may not have the funding for such things to help better a child’s education, or a teacher may unknowingly not speak loud enough for a kid with hearing aids. Young students are not always likely to speak up when they have issues in class, so I student with a disability may need a better tool to help them learn but they will stay quiet. The teacher must have great communication with the disabled students so they can always be on the same page with their learning. Also, I would personally always be worried that my student did not feel as if they were being treated as equally as the others, so my own worries could also be a challenge with adaptive technology.

I had a great time creating my WebQuest for my class. It made me feel like a real teacher and got me excited for the future. It was fun and I was presented with copious amounts of opportunity to have my students interact through the website, but I felt a bit overwhelmed by the amount of work that went into it. I was not expecting this to be a simple task but I found myself working at it all day to make it functional, appealing, fun and informative for my lesson. For the future time management will definitely be a necessity when making another WebQuest, but I do plan to use them because I think it is a great way for students to be independent and find their way through the website while learning and doing the tasks. If the effort is put into making it I think it will definitely show, and it will make learning easier.

Blogs I’ve Commented On:

https://dt12b.wordpress.com/2015/03/03/post-8/

https://mrc142015.wordpress.com/2015/03/02/post-7/

https://sammgronau.wordpress.com/2015/03/02/blog-post-7/

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 9.52.50 PM

6 thoughts on “PowerPoints, Yay or Nay?

  1. I completely agree with you that incorporating adaptive technologies into your classroom is step toward making learning non-discriminatory. I think it is very important to make the classroom a safe environment where all of your students will feel equal.

    Like

  2. I love what you said about power points. I found it interesting and compelling that you think that adaptive technologies will help to make the classroom non-discriminatory. I did not think of that, but I completely agree! It was also interesting for me to read your positive remarks on WebQuest, it was my least favorite assignment so far but I see some positives after reading you blog!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Module 8 | mrc142015

  4. I loved how you did your WebQuest! I thought it was very appealing for the targeted age group and I loved your use of fun fonts and of pictures, especially the one used for the background! I agree when you said that time management would be an essential factor in making another WebQuest as they’re very time consuming to make sure you get everything correct. Once again though, great job!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Blog Post 9: | Samantha Gronau's Blog

  6. Pingback: Module 9 | mrc142015

Leave a Reply

