Would you know a fake website if you saw one?

As a teacher I would definitely maintain a course website for my students. I feel that although it takes a bit of time to create the website once it is finished it allows you to organize all your announcements and assignments in one place. Course websites can have all assignments, readings, due dates, and anything else class related so it is easy for students to access. Also this makes it easier for a teacher because you’re constantly referring to one place for your student’s submissions and questions. Nothing is scattered and it is easy to go in and edit certain things. Having a course website does not only benefit you with organization and order, but it teachers your students to be independent. They will learn to periodically check the course website and keep track of their assignments themselves. You can post weekly reminders to keep them on track, but ultimately they need to remember to do the work. I think course websites benefit both student and teacher. It takes the stress out of constantly passing out tons of various papers and having to keep everything in order. You make it all online and accessible to only your students. As a student now, blackboard is my savior when it comes to my professors posting assignments, syllabuses and announcements. It gives me a way to check all the things I have to do without being in class.

Web 2.0 is sophisticated and allows users to interact and share with each other. I was interested in the tool Diigo, which can be used to share resources found online and allows students to take notes on them. I had never heard of diigo before but it is actually an amazing topic that I would definitely use when teaching. I think that the general concept itself is so good for learning. Students can take notes directly on the resource so others can see it, add to it, and talk about these notes. It gets students very involved and they are able to interact with each other and bounce ideas off of each other rather than just a one sided conversation with class and teacher. Also, this is a helpful tool for when students have questions, their notes can be questions directly for the teacher and instead of a student waiting until the next class, a teacher can comment back immediately with an answer. I think diigo is a great way to start a class conversation and allow students to contribute their thoughts about resources with each other. Explore https://www.diigo.com, it allows you to sign up for free!

I think that certain web 2.0 tools are beneficial in k-12 educational. I think that blogs and twitter accounts should be used in later years because it exposes students to social media and information that can be inaccurate. Blogs and twitter accounts also allow teachers to review submissions before a student can post them to make sure the content is appropriate. Also, blogs and twitter accounts can be run by a teacher and require specific usernames and passwords to ensure that only certain people can get onto the website. I also think that diigo would be a good tool to use but I am not familiar with how posting notes goes, and whether or not that content can be filtered and approved before it is shown to all other students. I think that twitters and blogs are easy ways to send your students information and they allow them to interact with the teacher and other classmates through tweets and weekly blog posts, just as we do every week in our education class. I think with the right boundaries and monitoring web 2.0 tools can be very affected for k-12 grades and should be utilized.

After working on the Web Evaluation form I learned how much can go into figuring out if a website is real and criteria that make a website that is educational and will help you or others learn. I think using a website evaluation form is smart because many children and even their parents cant spot out things that make information inaccurate and having a check off list makes it easy. I liked the organization that went into the assignment and that although it was informational I could still make it a bit visual and easy to follow. I plan to use these when I am a teacher for my students so they can get familiar with things that make a good website and how to know what resources to avoid when doing work online.

Blogs I’ve commented on:

https://mrc142015.wordpress.com/2015/02/23/module-6/comment-page-1/#comment-11

https://sammgronau.wordpress.com/2015/02/23/blog-post-6/comment-page-1/#comment-13

https://wsm13.wordpress.com/2015/02/23/blog-post-6/comment-page-1/#comment-12

Screen Shot 2015-02-23 at 6.42.01 PM

One thought on “Would you know a fake website if you saw one?

  1. I completely agree with you on having a course website because having all the information in one place is much more organized. I also liked your point about it making the students more independent because they are responsible for checking the website for weekly assignments. Good work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

